Where they kill and eat dogs

29 Nov

Where they kill and eat dogs

Dog they say is man’s best friend, but not in many places in southern Nigeria. Because, to the natives of these tribes, the dog is their best meat. They kill and eat dogs like others kill and eat cattle, sheep, goats, pigs, and other livestock.

Nigeria is not the only country where dog meat is eaten, but also in China, Vietnam, the Philippines, and Korea and several countries as documented in Wikipedia

My in laws from the Akwa Ibom in southern Nigeria are like the Tallensi of Ghana who consider dog meat a delicacy.

They say eating dog meat will boost your libido. Could this be the reason for the myth that people from Akwa Ibom are sex addicts?

They also say it cures malaria and is a good juju against evil spirits.

But I have noticed that those who eat dog meat often behave like dogs to prove the saying that you are what you eat.

“In the Islamic and Jewish cultures, eating dog is forbidden under Muslim dietary laws and Jewish laws of Kashrut.[10] In Buddhism, the Buddha prohibited eating dog meat along side meat such as human, elephant, horse and snake.”
~ Wikipedia

~ By Orikinla Osinachi

Top News: UNESCO and Knight Center wrap up pilot training programme for African journalism professors

13 Responses to “Where they kill and eat dogs”

  1. Christina Gripp December 6, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    I’d have to grant with you here. Which is not something I usually do! I really like reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to speak my mind!

  2. pattaya map December 8, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    Our rugby team and I have made nineteen breaks to Thailand in the course of the past ten months it definetly is the cheapest time off you can ever take. When you chose to visit Patong Beach you won’t regret it and will always want to return.

  3. best online slots December 14, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    Youre so right. Im there with you. Your weblog is undoubtedly worth a read if anybody comes across it. Im lucky I did because now Ive received a whole new view of this. I didnt realise that this issue was so important and so universal. You certainly put it in perspective for me.

  4. vlookup example December 14, 2010 at 12:56 am #

    Please tell me that youre heading to keep this up! Its so great and so important. I cant wait to read additional from you. I just really feel like you know so significantly and know how to make people listen to what you might have to say. This weblog is just also cool to be missed. Excellent stuff, actually. Please, PLEASE keep it up!

  5. Ultrasound Technician December 14, 2010 at 1:15 am #

    Good job right here. I genuinely enjoyed what you had to say. Keep going because you unquestionably bring a new voice to this topic. Not many people would say what youve said and still make it interesting. Nicely, at least Im interested. Cant wait to see extra of this from you.

  6. Solar Power for Homes December 14, 2010 at 1:24 am #

    How is it that just anybody can write a weblog and get as popular as this? Its not like youve said something incredibly impressive –more like youve painted a quite picture above an issue that you know nothing about! I dont want to sound mean, right here. But do you seriously think that you can get away with adding some pretty pictures and not truly say anything?

  7. photovoltaique December 14, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    This is really a extremely beneficial read for me, Have to admit you might be 1 in the most effective bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article.

  8. consolidate debt December 14, 2010 at 3:36 am #

    Ive been meaning to read this and just never received a chance. Its an issue that Im very interested in, I just started reading and Im glad I did. Youre a terrific blogger, 1 of the greatest that Ive seen. This blog unquestionably has some information on topic that I just wasnt aware of. Thanks for bringing this things to light.

  9. LiveJasmin December 14, 2010 at 5:01 am #

    I thought it was going to become some boring aged submit, however it genuinely compensated for my time. I will submit a website link to this page on my weblog. I’m certain my website visitors will locate that very useful.

  10. pepper spray information December 14, 2010 at 6:03 am #

    Pretty insightful submit. Never thought that it was this simple after all. I had spent a superior deal of my time looking for someone to explain this subject clearly and you’re the only 1 that ever did that. Kudos to you! Keep it up

  11. vibraters December 14, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    Took me time to read all the comments, but I seriously enjoyed the write-up. It proved to be Really useful to me and I’m positive to all the commenters right here It is always good when you can not only be informed, but also entertained I’m sure you had fun writing this article.

  12. snore guard December 14, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    I admire the useful information you offer inside your articles or blog posts. I’ll bookmark your weblog and have my kids check up right here generally. I am very sure they will discover a lot of new things right here than anybody else!

  13. Stan Kwiecinski December 14, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Its consistently great to learn guidelines such as you part targeted blog posting. As I only began posting remarks targeted blog and dealing with trouble as in lots of rejections. I think the suggestion would be useful for me. i’ll let you know if its function for me too.

Leave a comment